We were proud to learn that Bill Langan, the founder of Langan Design, has been named to the Bermuda Race Class of 2024 Roll of Honour, recognized as both “an innovative naval architect” and “a frequent competitor in the race.” He also served as the race’s technical director, working with Jim Teeters to create the Offshore Racing Rule that was first adopted in 2006. Their long-term goal was to rate boats of all sizes and capabilities fairly on the 635-mile offshore race. 

Bill competed in his first Newport Bermuda Race at age 15 and participated in 20 consecutive races. Langan Design’s Sam Howell raced to Bermuda with Bill on Encore, a boat designed by Bill while at Sparkman & Stephens. “He was a keen advocate of the race,” Sam says, “and I am positive that if he was still around, he would have competed in 25-plus races.” The Roll of Honour has only 17 members, spanning the 118-year history of the Bermuda Race.

Bermuda Race Roll of Honour Class of 2024

Here is an excerpt of the announcement made by the race organizers:

The Bermuda Race Roll of Honour recognizes and celebrates extraordinary achievement in or concerning the Newport Bermuda Race and its predecessor races. Inaugurated in 2006 on the 100th anniversary of the first race, 17 individuals have now been selected to join the Bermuda Race Roll of Honour. 

The idea for the Roll of Honour was formalized at a meeting at the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club on June 22, 2006 by Kirk Cooper, John Rousmaniere, Kaighn Smith, Owen Smith, and de Forest Trimingham.

The current selection committee of Gary Jobson, Bill Barton, Larry Glenn, Stephen Kempe, Henry Morgan, John Osmond, and John Winder announce the Class of 2024 Bermuda Race Roll of Honour. The following members will be formally recognized at the Cruising Club of America Fall Meeting in Annapolis. 

W. Frank Bohlen
Lea de Hass
M. William Langan
James McClenahan Mertz  
John Pierce Rousmaniere

Read more on the Bermuda Race website.